Today’s Disappointment

The blogs I love the most are the ones that have some personal posts within them. Other than my Lets Get Personal post, I’ve given little snippets about myself and my thoughts about certain topics. Today I am feeling not-so-happy. I am not a perfect person but since I’ve started writing this blog on happiness, I’ve felt a need to be happy every moment of every day. That’s not realistic. If by my unhappiness for this moment, I lose some credibility, so be it. If anything, I hope for some therapeutic benefit from this post.

My husband has started working third-shift and they just increased his hours from 8 to 10 hours a night. I am struggling with the loneliness of sleeping without him and trying to stay positive despite the circumstances.

I have been looking forward to spending the weekend and sleeping in the same bed with him. We made plans to spend some time with a friend of my husband’s who is going through an unfortunate life change of his own. This morning he called to tell me that he was asked to work tonight and immediately I felt disappointed.

I have always been one to wear my heart on my sleeve so it’s difficult for me to fake it. This is why learning mindfulness and accepting life as it is in the present is so very important for me. I understand the difficulties of my husband’s working third shift. I understand that he is working hard to support us financially while I go to school. He LOVES his job and has finally found something that he would be willing to do until he retires. I am so very proud of him. My disappointment is purely selfish and temporary.

The problem with my negativity about the situation is that every situation I encounter then becomes negative. I build walls and I stress myself and my family out. Enough with it.

Oddly enough, I feel much better. More on track.

Leave a Reply

